My Loving Companion
 
I am losing track of dates, but he is almost done with his antibiotic and has not had any buprenex, still has 2 syringes left. I ran out of 18G needles and am using the 20G Terumo's I bought a while back, and he doesn't mind those and is much more patient these days with the fluids. It takes a good few minutes for 20G's to pass 100mL! 


In other news, he is getting water out of the tub and not crying at all in the tub like he was. It is so obvious how much his mouth is not hurting him anymore. He is eating like a piggie, and I discovered I didn't need to assist feed him, I just needed to add hot water to the refridged Hi Tor, mush it into a thin gruel and he LOVES IT. He is eating his Iams Renal that I bought months ago that he refused them, but loves it now, and I also got him some Royal Canin. He is getting into that "I'm not in the mood for that today, let's try this" ... he has not touched the Purina One as far as I can tell, and as for the Purina One, Petco ran out of the Chicken and Rice so I had to buy one of those HUGE 16 lb bag of Purina One Healthy Weight Formula food. The Phos on it is only .7 (Thank you Purina for listing it!) which is not ideal for Boo but is not a huge concern if he gets some of it for me. In comparison, his Hi Tor Neo is .1 in phos. :T


He is grooming his mouth, face, legs and his belly and inner thighs where the dark dirty messy stuff is, and I just CANNOT wash that stuff off, I have no clue what it is! I bought a flea and dust comb at Petco for 1.99 (THANK YOU Petco! I didn't want the 8 dollar wooden handled metal comb!) but I can't use it on Boo as, well, he has no fur right now! Chickster has no fleas. I am hesitant to use it on the outdoor cats LOL. It's an "I don't want to know" thing. (Will do it tho)


I also bought him some Dairy Flavor and Beef Flavor temptations for "after med/fluid" treats. He loves those. He is crunching on his food and getting used to his new mouth situation. I pray I don't ever have to get all his teeth pulled, because that's just a horrible thought. 


He is LOVING going outside in the 90 degree weather, he laid on his side and curled his head up under him upside down and was very happy. As soon as the misquitoes started biting we went inside (they bit me, not him, but I keep a close eye to make sure they don't go after him, with his shaved fur, it is growing back in now) 


Hoping that Boo starts gaining some weight. He is a bit wobbly in the back legs, but his fluids are being absorbed well. With the extra water added to his Hi Tor and the water drinking, I think 100-115mL is fine for now. I am still getting another PCV test soon and I want to get a BUN test too. The new vet has been so great to me and I adore them very much for all the care and consideration they have given me. 


As for the old vet, they are being dealt with. I may start an entirely separate blog somewhere else on a different site to document my experience with this, as it may be some help to others. 


That's it for now! Thank you guys so much!
7/24/2010 02:27:35 am

Glad to see he is improving. And eating. That is always good.
Love & Purrs,
KC

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed