My Loving Companion
 
The vet did not feel it was necessary to do an X-ray, since Boo is so thin he could feel his intestines very well and told me there was a 2-3 inch stool in his intestine that was firm but not hard, and it was moving its way down. He said he was not really sure why he had the runs, it could be from ingesting clay, but he did not feel any blockages or any large areas or hard areas. Boo acted as nice as he could up until they brought him a pill to take, and once we got that into a liquid to squirt into his mouth, it took 10 minutes to get 5 CC's into his mouth. He acted like a little superman, I was so shocked at how strong he is. The vet was amazed he looked so well, in his eyes, his coat sheen, he was happy with it.
His anemia levels I got wrong, they went UP from 11% to 13%. When I told him another vet mentioned how bad this was, he told me a few stories of animals he had seen at worse levels and they had bounced back. I told him I know Boo has to have non-regenerative anemia, and he agreed, but he advises using the supp's once we get his runs under control. His skin turgor is good and the vet, like I said, was pretty amazed at how great he looked. He advised against an x-ray at this time, and also said he would try antibiotics if this did not help to stop the problem, but added this stuff ("Amforal Suspension", 5CC's to a synringe, yellow liquid) has some "antibacterial" (his wording) properties in it. We will see. Maybe one of those outside cats got face to face with him in the window when I wasn't aware and sneezed on him or something. I don't know.
 But I am so pleased to at least know he isn't completely blocked up. The vet wants to try things one at a time, instead of putting too many meds in his body and then not knowing what has done what or which symptom came from what med. I think that is a good idea.

 Going to cuddle with Boo. He certainly tried to strong arm them. He did not have a fever, he did not drool, and his third eyelids weren't showing. He looked bright and happy right up until the temperature check *YOWCH!*
Thank you all so much. I am going to cuddle with Boo for a bit.
Charlemagne and Tamar
5/28/2010 07:02:48 am

Hi Boo,

We came over the Cat Blogosphere to see how you are doing. We're sending purrs that you feel better and our momma let us use some of our allowance to send you some green papers.

We hope that you and your Momma have a nice weekend.

Charlemagne and Tamar

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed