My Loving Companion
 
Boo is doing even better than yesterday. He is sleeping longer, more deeply, and his breathing has slowed to the normal, lazy breathing of a regular cat. He is also breathing deeper than he was. He seems to be very, very comfortable. He meowed and meowed at me this morning when I came in, and was very alert. His eyes are so bright. I gave him 100mL of fluid and his .25 of pet-tinic, and he groomed himself all over. Now he is sleeping again. 
I am fairly sure, unless future events prove otherwise, that he was being overhydrated. He was not at the end of the road, he was not failing because of his anemia, he was being DROWNED. The very sweet, loving people at the cat-site forums had told me before that 200mL a day was too much, but me, I was ignorant and thought well if the vet said it? I questioned the vets every time we went in, no, they insisted, and kept insisting, 200mL is what he needs. 
Well, the vet on Monday admitted, once, very quickly, that yes, he was most likely overhydrated. Go back to 100mL, but "I wouldn't give him but one or two more weeks." Then he proceeded to tell me how surprising this cat had been to him, how well he had done, and he never thought he would've made it this far. Maybe I ought to point him in the direction of Tanya's CRF site and the Cat Site Forums, because I get this feeling they haven't had very many CRF patients, because if Boo surprises them, what of all the other cats I've read about, who were far worse off than Boo, and survived!?
This vet's been in this town since I was born in 1982. I trusted him. Then I keep hearing from more and more townfolk that say no, I'll never go back there. 
I felt so stupid and wished Boo would've reached up and slashed me across the face. I had let him down and ignored the people who had been through it and knew what they were doing, to try and listen to someone else just because they had a paper on the wall. Papers mean a lot in this state, but as of now they mean squat to me and my Boo. People with actual experience mean more. 
In any case, enough of my wrath! Boo is doing very well today, and I suspect his BUN level was up because he had not had fluids on Sunday or any before he went on Monday, and he had been eating Purina One Chicken and Rice Formula (His "treats" after fluids, but I ran out of hi-tor but should have some today) his BUN should go back down, but I am not in a rush to get another blood draw. With his anemia (Still at 13% I might add) I am not rushing to drain the poor guy of anything else.


So far, a good day. Thank you ALL!!! <3
'Kaika
6/9/2010 08:02:57 am

'Kaika's mom here again: Sooo happy to hear Boo is getting back on an even keel! Now you know your instincts have been right all along. Like you, I have also relied on websites like Helen's (Tanya's CRF site) and forums for words of advice when dealing with my own CRF boys. Fortunately for us, my vets have been wonderful, and never hesitated to encourage me to listen to my own instincts. They told me to treat the cat, not the numbers; one of them is also an animal acupuncturist and our current vet works in concert with an acupuncturist/TCM practitioner.

I hope you find the right vet for Boo and you and that Boo continues to enjoy his life.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed