My Loving Companion
 
I can't wait to get Boo's mouth fixed. 


This morning he was grumpier than usual. I gave him his pain meds and his fluids and waited to feed him. He completely refused to eat the Hi Tor on his own, even right out of the can. So I assist fed him about 6-7mL worth of pureed Hi Tor in warm water and left him alone after giving him his antibiotic (poor baby)


I went to run errands and found a great deal on Friskies can food, 10 for 4.60, so I got ten cans, for the outside cats. Chickster does not eat wet, whatsoever, and I didn't consider Boo eating it. Well, I got home and he is still grumpy, so I said what the heck, he's got to eat something and I can't "assist feed" (I keep wanting to say force feed) him but so much before he gets really stressed. 


I put 1/3 of a can of Lamb and Rice Friskies on a plate and brought it to him. At first I felt bad, then I felt even worse when he ATE THAT SUCKER UP! He ate mostly all the gravy but got a few big pieces of meat. He's just catapulted himself onto my desk (Geez he scares me doing that! That pain med makes him loopy!) and found the plate again and is chowing down. I will let him, because he has got to have something more than mL's of food. He won't touch Purina and he won't even touch his Temptations now. But he's eating this just fine, and not wincing nearly at all over it. Odd. 


He has had some kind of drainage from the extraction site because he had a teeny tiny pink spot of blood on his cheek, like blood mixed with some type of fluids. There are no scratches on him anywhere. He was swallowing a lot two days ago but that has stopped. 


Hoping the antibiotics keep kicking butt in there. Wow he's really chowing down guys. Making a full on mess of it too. Gotta help him keep it on the plate. Thank you all! <3 <3
'Kaika's mom
7/9/2010 08:25:10 am

That's great about the Friskies ... he absolutely has to eat. He'll be able to go back on the Hi-Tor post surgery. Keep eating, little Boo!

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed