My Loving Companion
 
Well, it's March 25, 2010. I finally went and got Boo some NutriVet B-Complex Plus Iron Liquid supplements for his anaemia. I am kicking myself for not doing it earlier, and letting him get to the point of trying to eat cat litter. I am also really realizing the hard way that his vet is not very proactive with his case. This is why I have the two resources online (Tanya's CRF Site and TheCatSite.com forums, thanks you guys, you'll never know how much!!) to show me what I need to be doing. I also have a "new" vet who has yet to see Boo in the flesh, but is nice enough to consult with me on his health issues. 
His sub-q fluids went so very well today. He didn't peep or jump at the needle. I got him right behind the shoulderblades (where it has always usually worked every time) and I'm trying to recall why I stopped doing that. Perhaps because one day the needle wouldn't go in, but yesterday was horrible. I ended up having to stick him 4 times before I could get the needle to go in. The first 2 didn't even poke him, and he only mewed, but the 3rd one got through the skin and he growled like a mad rottweiler (He has an absolutely unbelievable growl), he jerked, the needle came out and I had to try one more time. The 4th time was the charm, and we got it done. I was going to try the 20G Terumo's today, but decided against it since he knows exactly the time it takes for the 18G and starts getting restless the last few seconds of his fluids all without me telling him a single thing.
Boo is not liking the pine pellets I bought, though I'm thrilled they work so well. At about 20 dollars for a 20 lb bag, though, I'm not sure if it will be more costly this way. I am hoping the NutriVed (from VEDCO) will help his anaemia. I had explained all of what he was doing to the vet, and he readily offered this supplement today. So, let us hope it starts working! 
Eye discharge has lessened a great deal, though the smell is still a little strong. Have been wiping his eyes and getting the crusties out. I have an ointment if his conjunctivitis pops up again. 
His appetite is great, and I am even feeling a bit of pooching on the sides of his belly (not fluids), so I am hoping he has gained a few ounces. I have yet to buy a baby scale for lack of funds at the moment, but he has not lost any weight. His poopers and pee'ers are great. No miralax needed, though the Pepcid has been attempted (last night) and he has figured out how to hold them in his mouth as long as he needs to, and when I let go he spits it out, half dissolved. I will be trying to crush, mix with water and squirt into his mouth by syringe, now knowing that I need to give him about 5 CC's of water behind that to wash the nasty bitter taste out of his mouth. 
His attitude is not as upbeat as usual, he is laying in Mom's bed and refusing to lay in mine, though he wanted me in there this morning (he loves it when we're all together). He is sleeping comfortably now. More updates later:) Thanks for reading!



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed