My Loving Companion
 
Well, I came home this morning from work to find Boo had completely had it with his puppy pads. He had pooped twice outside of the pans, and both times were runny. He had vomited also, but it was a quarter size amount with very little stomach bile and a small hairball in the middle. Amidst everything else I had forgotten that I've seen him grooming quite a bit, chest, legs, back, instead of his usual face-only grooming. I think this is a good thing.
I have started him on the iron supplements, and phoned the vet this morning about his runny poop. I told her I wasn't sure it if was from him attempting to eat the clay and pine pellets, or from this supplement, but since it's continued to last night I am suspecting, as well as the vet, that is the supplement. They told me that it's not unusual for it to be a slight shock to their digestive system as it has a lot of vitamins and minerals in it, and going without them for so long can cause this. If he has not stopped the runny poop in 2 days I am to call them back and he will have to be seen. 
His appetite is as great as ever. He dug into his Hi-Tor neo well, he drank a nice amount of water and his fluids went great as ever. Apparently a few moments ago he just had another runny poop spell, just a small amount with a bit of solid stool in it, so I am hoping this is passing. We have decided to hold off on the supplement for today to let his body calm down. When I resume I will do it very slowly, a few drops from the small bulb-syringe provided with the supplements. 
Boo is resting on the bed after my grooming his poo spots with a baby wipe and snipping some poo away, there wasn't much altogether, but he didn't want to dirty the bed. He is so very well mannered, the poor baby. I hate his having to go through this, after everything else. 
I changed 2 of the pans from puppy pads, which Boo obviously is disgusted by, and replaced them with full sheets of newspaper. He used this a short awhile ago without incident. These newspaper sheets are not shredded and hopefully he will not try to eat these as well. 
5/26/2010 07:04:47 pm

Poor Boo and poor you, it can be really tough caring for a cat with CRF but we think you are doing really well and dear Boo is very lucky to have you as his Mum.

We send rumbly, healing purrs to Boo

Whicky Wuudler

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed