My Loving Companion
 
I just have to say THANK YOU LORD, Boo does not have hyperthyroidism. The vet called while I was in the bathroom. That was a sight in itself, with Chickster in there, and me trying to get out and her dodging back and forth. She'd be a GREAT goalie or football player. She nearly knocked me down. Anyway, the vet said his T4 came back normal. Their range is 1.5-4.8 and his is 1.4. I asked if it was a little low and they said no, not really, it's borderline, but Dr. Mireles said he really wouldn't worry. He was super happy that he had gained weight (7.4 to 8 pounds now!) and thinks things are going fine. I told him about the fluid absorption worry and he insisted 200mL a day was fine to continue doing, and if he had a little pouch left (I told him it was maybe 50mL or less) he said not to worry about that. They do want to run a CBC, Superchem and Electrolyte panel. I don't have the money for the superchem definitely, it is a bit over 90 dollars. The CBC is 30-40 and the Electrolyte is 30-40. JUST to get his BUN level is 16.00 so I will certainly try to do that Monday, to give Boo a break. He is sleeping in the closet right now and is staying still. 
Thanks everyone so much <3
'Kaika
6/4/2010 08:07:08 am

'Kaika's mom here: Great news! So happy that Boo is clear of Hyper-T.

Regarding the fluids issue: I'm not an expert om this disease by any means, but having had a few CRF kitties and being used to giving fluids, I can tell you that when they stop absorbing all the fluids you administer and end up with a fluid pouch, that is a sign they may not need as much. Too much fluid can tax the heart and kidneys. Here is a reference from a wonderful cat site in the UK for all things CRF: http://www.felinecrf.org/fluid_therapy.htm Scroll down this page until you find the section on how much fluids to administer. I'm sure your vet had his reasons for prescribing 200 ml per day, but it wouldn't hurt to closely monitor Boo if the excess continue to be a problem. Best wishes for Boo's continued improvement.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed