My Loving Companion
 
Just letting you know that I do read your comments (I get an email with them in it each time) and if I don't respond it's not because i did not read them! Thank you for your help and information. Information can be more life saving than money and I totally understand. I am just glad there are other people out there helping other helpless animals who need it! Thank you for that!


I will look into the information you gave me. My old vet never tested his phos levels but insisted the BUN level was a good indication of it. It went up to 102 at the last test (When I was told he had 2 weeks to live) but I think that was because we were giving him more Purina One dry than we should've been (Because he's turned us into his slaves and we do whatever he says, even though we shouldn't!) So that has been brought back down to a MINIMUM. 5-8 pieces once MAYBE twice a day, and the ONCE is after his fluids if he does a good job (Which he's been such a good boy lately, purring and laying down on his own, even coming into the room, if not jumping up on the bed with banners flying over it, haha!!) 
 He is doing well today but cannot be tempted to go outside. I was hoping to take him out before the misquotoes came out, which Mom says they aren't out in early morning. But he wasn't interested. He sat in his window for a bit, though. He is liking his dome bed more and more and is resting nicely in there. I would rather see him sleeping more than running about, because that is all he's done for the past nearly 3 weeks because of his itching. 


I am hoping to get some answers from the new vet about the itching. He is grooming his face and parts of his chest, but when he itches, he does a rapid licking of his chest and sides. There are still no red spots or any indications of a skin injury there. So we will definitely bring this up to the vet. Thank you all for your support and help, I appreciate it very much. 


This new vet is much more capable of CRF treatment. She has the ability to take blood pressure and they have an in-house lab, and their place is very nice. I was so amazed when I went in there about how calm everyone (And animals) were, and how sweet she was, that I am so excited to go tomorrow. Please pray, cross fingers, send vibes that the car ride will be okay for Boo. He rides a lot better than he used to, since we were going to the vet every day for nearly 3 weeks when he was diagnosed, but this will be the 3rd longest ride since I got him (First bringing him home all the way from Advance, second was taking him to the next county for Dr. Schmunk)


Thank you all so much. Will update tomorrow after his appt!!! <3 <3 <3



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed