My Loving Companion
 

Bad news. I took Boo into see Dr. Pierce. She looked in his mouth and wanted to take an X Ray to make sure there wasn't any tooth or root left in his there. X-Ray comes back, guess what? Not only are there large shards of root/tooth left in the extraction site of the canine, but the old vet SEVERED three other tooth's roots when he took it out! CAN YOU BELIEVE THAT!? Boo has been in really bad pain ever since then and it took this for me to really realize how bad it was. 
So, he's on Buprenex every 8 hours for one week and Clyndamyacin 1mL once a day for a week. I have until then to get my old vet to reimburse me and if not, I'll have to have it done at the new vet's, but she recommended me having it done at an actual specialized animal dentistry place in Greensboro, which is a slight drive away from me. He will have to be hospitalized for 3 days and it will cost between 600-800 dollars. This is at the vet's, not at the specialty place. She is working on getting an estimate from there. Also, she is putting together a file of facts and what she has seen, and notes, to take to my old vet along with the X-Ray in order to convince him of what he's done (along with the Amforal issue) and have him pay to have this fixed. 


I wanted to cry when I saw the X-ray. It was obvious how bad it was, and then to see the 3 tiny teeth in front just sliced beneath, she told me she wanted to cry, too. It was pretty bad. She also admitted she was angry and I am too. 


I just feel so lost right now. They said they would work with me on the payments of this issue. It wasn't even closed up, guys. It has been WIDE OPEN since he had it done last year. This is why I say when the old vet said "Oh he probably just has some food down in there" I can't believe I didn't see red flags! I was told you were supposed to put a "peridontal flap" over it and sew it closed (Which is what they did to ME when I had my wisdom teeth taken out!) but noooooooo not so much as that! Just left it wide open! And the teeth that were cut at the root (the 3 small in the front next to his canine), she said it looked like he used a drill and just, slice!! As he was getting the canine out! I CANNOT BELIEVE THIS!!!


This cat has been through TOO MUCH already. Now I am wondering if I should even put him through this? It wouldn't be too horrible, really, but I am so confused as to what I should really do next. He came home and before I could get the Buprenex in him he ate a load of Purina One. Now he is sleeping. My poor Boo. He is just so tired, I know he is. 


So we have stones, an enlarged kidney, CRF, and a mouth in real bad shape. He was so dazed after the Isofluerene, I was surprised, I thought he would come out of it really quick, but it took longer than I expected and he's still a little wobbly even now (We had this done at about 9:00AM, it was over at 9:30 and at about 10:00 he was still wobbly and I just got home about 11AM and he was just a bit wobbly)


I am so heartbroken thinking that maybe it would be better to not do this. I do not know what to do. The only thing I do know is my mother is just as mad as I am, and she is demanding to go with me when I see the old vet, and she's going to really raise heck. The steps after that if he refuses are contacted the Veterinary Board and then of course, court. 


Please send vibes for Boo that his Buprenex helps with his pain and the antibiotics help his suffering a bit. 


Thank you guys so much. :heart3:

'Kaika's mom
7/6/2010 07:00:59 am

I am so sorry about what has happened to sweet Boo. Seem to be hearing a number of horror stories about incompetent and negligent vets lately. Poor little guy, being in so much pain all this time. I so hope the specialty vet can help him. If pain and eating weren't issues for him, I'm sure he'd feel better and his stress levels would go down. Stress affects the kidney problems, so, as I see it, things can only improve for him. But you know him best, and we support whatever course of treatment you and your vet choose for him. I think your mom is right ... take whatever means you can to make this vet compensate you -- at least monetarily -- for his screw-up. He can never make this up to little Boo. Poor kitty ... Hang in there.

Reply



Leave a Reply.

    About Boo

    Boo was a 13.5 year old Persian male with Chronic Renal Failure diagnosed 03/15/10. He passed away peacefully on 08/02/10. For more on Boo, visit Boo's Life Story page.

    Boo's Ma

    I live in Central North Carolina and take care of 6 cats. 4 outside 'wanderers' and 2 indoor, Boo and Chickster. Boo is 13 years old and Chickster is 1-2. I'd rather be at home with my cats than anywhere else. I devote most of my time to Boo and try not to accidentally ignore Chickie Sue. I am starting to notice they can be a lot like children sometimes! It is not always an easy job!


    Archives

    August 2010
    July 2010
    June 2010
    May 2010

    Categories

    All

    RSS Feed